Sara Gruen Books in Order

This is a comprehensive Sara Gruen Books in Order List. She loves animals and her books are themed on animals.

Sara Gruen is an American author best known for her bestselling novel “Water for Elephants.”

She was born on August 10, 1969, in Vancouver, Canada, and grew up in London, Ontario.

Gruen studied English literature at the University of Ottawa and then worked as a technical writer before turning to fiction writing.

In addition to “Water for Elephants,” Gruen has written several other novels, including:

“Riding Lessons,” “Flying Changes,” “Ape House,” and “At the Water’s Edge.”

Her books often feature animals as prominent characters, and she is known for her ability to create vivid, immersive settings.

“Water for Elephants” was published in 2006 and became an instant bestseller.

The novel tells the story of a young man named Jacob Jankowski who runs away from his life as a veterinary student and joins a traveling circus during the Great Depression.

The book was later adapted into a successful film starring Reese Witherspoon and Robert Pattinson.

Gruen received the Alex Award in 2007 for her work. She also supports several charities dealing with animals both tamed and wild.

Gruen currently lives in Asheville, North Carolina, with her family.

This Sara Gruen Books list is in chronological order starting off with her earliest publication to the latest one.

Riding Lessons (2002)

Riding Lessons

“Riding Lessons” is a novel by Sara Gruen that tells the story of Annemarie Zimmer, a former Olympic-level equestrian who gave up riding after a tragic accident.

Years later, Annemarie returns to her childhood home in Massachusetts to help her injured father run their struggling horse farm.

As she tries to repair her relationship with her father and get the farm back on its feet, Annemarie also grapples with the ghosts of her past, including her difficult relationship with her mother and the painful memories of the accident that ended her riding career.

When a handsome, mysterious stranger named Tom begins working at the farm, Annemarie finds herself drawn to him and to the horses once again.

But as she begins to rebuild her life, she realizes that she must confront the demons of her past if she is ever going to truly move forward.

Full of heart and drama, “Riding Lessons” is a story of redemption, second chances, and the healing power of love and forgiveness.

Flying Changes (2005)

Flying Changes

“Flying Changes” is a novel by Sara Gruen and a sequel to her earlier book “Riding Lessons.”

The story continues to follow the life of Annemarie Zimmer, a former Olympic-level equestrian, and her struggles to balance her love of horses with the challenges of family and relationships.

In “Flying Changes,” Annemarie has moved to Wellington, Florida, to pursue her riding career and try to heal her strained relationship with her teenage daughter, Eva.

But when her ex-husband, who is also Eva’s father, shows up unexpectedly with his new girlfriend, tensions run high and Annemarie must navigate the complex dynamics of her blended family.

As Annemarie trains for a major equestrian competition, she also finds herself drawn to a handsome horse trainer named Nick.

But when her daughter begins to act out and her ex-husband’s girlfriend starts causing trouble, Annemarie’s carefully constructed world begins to unravel.

With themes of family, love, and sacrifice, “Flying Changes” is a poignant and engaging story of one woman’s struggle to find balance and happiness in the face of life’s many challenges.

Water for Elephants (2006)

Water For Elephants

Winner of the 2007 BookBrowse Award for Most Popular Book

Water for Elephants” is a novel by Sara Gruen that tells the story of Jacob Jankowski, a young man who abandons his studies at Cornell University after his parents are killed in a car accident.

He jumps on a passing train, not realizing that it belongs to a traveling circus.

As Jacob begins to work for the circus, he falls in love with Marlena, a beautiful equestrian star.

August, the circus’s charismatic but unpredictable animal trainer, becomes both his mentor and his nemesis.

When Jacob discovers that Marlena and August are involved in a dangerous love triangle, he must navigate the complex politics of the circus and protect the animals he has come to love.

Set against the backdrop of the Great Depression, “Water for Elephants” is a captivating tale of love, adventure, and survival.

With its vivid characters, lush settings, and thrilling plot, the novel has become a modern classic and has been adapted into a successful film starring Reese Witherspoon and Robert Pattinson.

Ape House (2010)

Ape House

“Ape House” is a novel by Sara Gruen that tells the story of Isabel Duncan, a scientist who studies the communication abilities of bonobo apes.

When a group of apes at the lab where Isabel works is brutally attacked, she is devastated and determined to find a new home for them.

As she searches for a sanctuary for the apes, Isabel meets John Thigpen, a journalist who becomes intrigued by the story and begins to write about it.

Together, Isabel and John follow the trail of the attackers, uncovering a network of underground animal rights activists who use the apes for their own purposes.

As Isabel and John work to rescue the apes and bring the perpetrators to justice, they must confront their own personal demons and the complicated relationships in their lives.

” Ape House” is a captivating and thought-provoking novel that explores themes of animal rights, communication, and the bond between humans and animals.

With its compelling characters, intricate plot, and insightful observations, the book is a masterful work of fiction that will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

At the Water’s Edge (2015)

At the waters edge

“At the Water’s Edge” is a novel by Sara Gruen that takes place during the height of World War II.

The story follows Maddie and Ellis Hyde, a young American couple who are determined to prove their worth to their wealthy families and society.

After Ellis is kicked out of the army for bad behavior, he convinces Maddie and their best friend, Hank, to join him on a mission to Scotland to find the Loch Ness monster.

Maddie is skeptical, but she goes along with the plan, hoping to salvage her crumbling marriage.

As they navigate the dangerous terrain of war-torn Scotland, Maddie, and Ellis are forced to confront their own privilege and ignorance.

Maddie also begins to develop feelings for Angus, a Scottish soldier who helps them on their journey and shows her a different way of life.

With its lush descriptions of the Scottish landscape, complex characters, and rich historical detail, “At the Water’s Edge” is a captivating and moving story of love, loss, and self-discovery.

Fawnie Stops Pushing Things Off (2016)

Fawnie Stops Pushing Things Off

“Fawnie Stops Pushing Things Off” is a children’s picture book by Sara Gruen, published in 2016 as part of “The Let’s Speak About” series.

The book follows Fawnie, a young deer who has a habit of pushing things off tables and shelves.

Fawnie’s friends, including a bird, a rabbit, and a turtle, try to help her overcome her habit by encouraging her to express her feelings instead of acting out.

With its charming illustrations and a gentle message about emotions and self-control, “Fawnie Stops Pushing Things Off” is a delightful book for young children and a helpful tool for parents and caregivers to teach important social and emotional skills.

Did you like our Sara Gruen books in Order list? Kindly share your thoughts and comments below.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.